• Overview
  • Faculty
  • Notice
  • Alumni
  • Achievement

Brindaban Govt. College, Habiganj is a public, honors-level degree college in the town of Habiganj, Bangladesh. It was established in 1931. To create higher education opportunities in the Habiganj region, Brindaban Das set up the college. More than 17000 students in Higher Secondary School Certificate (HSC), Honors, and Master levels are currently studying in this college. The HSC education is controlled by the Board of intermediate and Secondary Education, Sylhet. Honors and Masters Subjects are thought according to the guidance of National University of Bangladesh. This college has placed within the top ten colleges in Sylhet Division and it is the top-ranked college in the Habiganj District. Political Science Department is one of the royal department in the institute of Brindaban Govt. College. This Department started as an independent department in 2005 pioneered by Parvin Afroz, Associate professor its first chairperson. The Department offers a four-years Bachelor of Social Sciences (BSS) & one-year Master of Social Sciences (MSS) programs from the 2005-06 and 2010-11 sessions respectively. The Department accommodates 750 students among them 650 in graduate, 100 in Masters’. The Department has five different posts like associate professor -01, Assistant professor -01, Lecturer -03. The Department has a high profile curriculum and development committee which makes sure that the academic curriculum of all the programs is updated enough to address the recent national and international issues concerned. The Department offers a unique opportunity for its students to consult their problems with Head of the Department on diversified issues. The seminar library of this department is very rich. It has a collection of books other educational materials. It offers computer and internet facilities for teachers and students as well. In sports, cultural activities, and other co-curricular activities, the department of political science has occupied a leading position within the college. Associate professor Mr. A K M Harunor Rashid is now head of this department. Besides Mohammad Abu Siddik, Assistant Professor, Md Mahbub Ahmed, Lecturer, Sharmin Akther Liza, Lecturer are working in this department.

Name Designation Joining Date
A.K.M. Harunor Rashid Chairman 12-01-2016
Mohammad Abu Siddique Assistant Professor 02-11-2015
Md Mahbub Ahmed Lecturer 05-02-2017
Sharmin Akther Liza Lecturer 05-02-2017
Description Date Download

A.K.M. Harunor Rashid


Mohammad Abu Siddique

Assistant Professor

Md Mahbub Ahmed


Sharmin Akther Liza