• Overview
  • Faculty
  • Notice
  • Alumni
  • Achievement

The Philosophy department is one of the oldest and royal departments of esteem and historical institute ‘Brindaban Govt College’. This department opened its door to the students of Intermediate of arts under the affiliation of Calcutta University in 1931-32 session. The Honours program in Philosophy also started in the session of 1940-41. Due to some reasons the then Govt banned the honours program but opened degree pass courses under the affiliation of Dhaka University in 1963-64 session. Subsequently it was shifted to the Chittagong University in the 1967-68 session. Then it was transferred to the National University in 1993-94. Again, honours program in philosophy opened under the National University in the session of 1998-99. lastly under the guidance of the then Vice Chancellor of National University, Professor Dr. Md. Sajahan Miah (University of Dhaka), Principal and with the initiative of head of the department Masters of Arts opened in 2016-17 session. It now has four posts in different categories. Associate-01, Assistant-01, Lecture -02. The seminar library of this department is very rich with thousands of books, publications, journals ,and daily newspapers etc. It is not only conducive for education but also well decorated, Education tour is organised as a part of students syllabus which gives a practical knowledge to the students side by side classroom learning. Students of this department are considered a model academic result and extra-curricular activities like debate, games & sports, cultural program, essay competitions, Md. Tofazzal Ali (Associate Professor) is now Chairman of this department. Besides, Deepak Kumar Das (Lecturer), Kamrunnahar Sadia (Lecturer) is working with devotion in this department. It also has some dedicated support staff. This department as well as Brindaban Govt College are very close to the landmark of hundred years.

Name Designation Joining Date
Md. Tofazzal Ali Chairman 10-05-2021
Deepak Kumar Das Lecturer 08-14-2014
Kamrunnahar Sadia Lecturer 02-14-2021
Description Date Download

Md. Tofazzal Ali


Deepak Kumar Das


Kamrunnahar Sadia